The Beginning

Back in November ’16 I had the thought that I would like to start doing more with my photography. I have very much been into photography for almost 10 years now but would love to take it further. It would be great at some stage to maybe be able to sell some of my photos however at the moment I just want to improve. A good starting point I thought would be to set up a photography blog: give me something to focus on and push myself. Hopefully also get feedback from other photographers. So what better time than at the beginning of a new year to set up this blog.

Since having the idea of this blog when I have been out with my camera I have chosen what I think it my best photo in order to showcase it on this blog. So my first few blogs are going to be a bit about those photos and where they were taken. It is going to be a bit of trial and error to find out what works for me in terms of blogging but hopefully will be talking about hill walks that I do and the photos taken on them. I love being in the outdoors so that will be the main theme of my photos however I am wanting to improve and get out of my comfort zone with my photos so really it is going to be a little bit of everything relating to photography.

I am going to try a minimum of once every two weeks however hopefully will be able to do more than that but want to set myself a realistic goal. Also thinking about setting myself a photography challenge each month so there will be a blog about that. Haven’t decided what January’s will be yet.

Most of the time the camera that I use will be a Nikon D60 and a Tamron lens 18-200m however I will give the details with each photo. I am very much a Nikon person. I have also tried to give the photos names which isn’t something that I usually do so shall see how that works.

Suppose now that I have talked the talk I better actually start putting some pictures in. My first photo is one that I took after having the idea for this blog. It is taken at Cathkin Braes, Glasgow, Scotland which is very close to where I work so an area that I enjoy to have a walk around with my camera.

dsc_0032
‘Through The Leaves’

The photo was taken on the 21st of November 2016 in the morning using a Nikon D60 with a Tamron  lens 18-200mm. Iso 400, f 4.5 and shutter 1/60.

Leave a Reply

